Nice in NICE Part 2

2 Apr

Saturday – Sunday – Monday

Saturday

The day was over cast but yet still mild compared to the UK, 14’c.
Mr S yet again headed to work.

20130403-163008.jpg
(This is my leaflet collection from all my different travels over the years, I keep little maps and hand out guides in this box which is now full to over flowing)

I was in the mood for a more relaxed day so decided upon a tour bus of Nice leaving from the Promenade Des Anglais. I managed to get to the places I wanted on this tour, but at €23 it wasn’t the best tour bus I’ve ever been on. It starts off well but after Cimiez it’s pretty much an audio bus journey you don’t even catch a glimpse of the Russian church & housing etc they talk of or get told which is the bus stop closest on the audio. So if I was doing this again I would catch a normal bus to the further sights or walk if my legs weren’t so weary. Buses are very cheap.

20130403-165707.jpg

I met a lovely English couple on the bus who told me all about their previous day in Cannes and how the train in their eyes was better than the bus and only slightly more expensive at €3.50 return and quicker; a bus being longer and costing €2 return.
We exchanged lots of different have you seen’s etc.

I had planned to have an easier day as I was aware the weather wasn’t going to be the best but also I had stupidly exhausted myself the previous day (silly body).

20130403-160640.jpg

My first stop was Cimiez this part of the bus journey was interesting, viewing the suburbs of Nice and the architecture. My stop was the Musee Matisse.

20130402-232557.jpg

For me this gave me a new appreciation of Matisse and his life, this kind of art doesn’t all appealed to me. But in saying this, viewing his works and realising just how he was a forthinker for art has greatly improved my liking of his work. Henri Matisse was born in 1869 and lived till 1954, aged 84, for me I never truly thought about when he was producing works that were so modern for there time.
Here are some of my favourites that I was allowed to photograph from the Museum.

20130402-233034.jpg

20130402-233728.jpg

20130402-233153.jpg

While in the gift shop I treated myself to this beautiful child’s book.
About A Boy Called Issa in the Plains of Africa, by Antione Guillipoe.
I fell in love with the monochrome cut outs and gold sun.

20130403-160015.jpg

20130403-160131.jpg

20130403-160247.jpg

20130403-160416.jpg

20130403-160525.jpg

After the museum I went back on the bus tour to the Promenade des Anglais and walked back to the hotel, as it was begining to drizzle and get chilly, I hadn’t taken a proper coat.

20130403-164712.jpg

After a warm up and grabbing a coat I then jumped back on the bus and headed to the Musee d’Art Moderne et d’Art Contemporain.
I will just add that most museums in Nice seem to be free which was a surprise.
I wandered around inspecting different modern artist these are a few that caught my eye before Mr S met me and we went for coffee.

20130403-165131.jpg
Nissa Bella; Martial Rayess.

20130403-165338.jpg
The Museum Hosts collections of Yves Klein’s work.

20130403-165442.jpg
Jim Dine; Hard Hearts.

I hoped to do more museums on the Saturday but I was just to physically exhausted.

That evening we drove to Cannes to eat. I really wish I had the time to do Cannes too; but there is always a next time. In the little cobbled back streets we found a jazz restaurant and had a lovely night.

Sunday

Sunday we were going to have a day out together touring the coast in the car but Mr S needed to work and it rained quiet heavily so I took the chance to catch up on resting I may have over done it for me in the past couple of days.
I watched French dubbed TV trying to understand it … Mr S has lived and worked in France this can speak Fluent French, I on the other hand took German at school & briefly at University, my French is shocking!! I am interested in if I can build upon my school girl linguistics as it has been a consideration moving to France but obviously a language barrier could be quiet isolating for me… And apart from this I read.
My body was grateful.

By the evening the weather had improved slightly. Mr S & I ate out at a restaurant on the Cours Saleya market square.
Defiantly one of the more interesting and lively places to eat ~ good people watching.

Monday

Monday was home time but first Mr S had to go to work.
I lazed about till 10.30 at the hotel
And planed to finish off my sightseeing and gift shopping.

20130402-233532.jpg

I got my parents and the nieces chocolates and Mr S & I, Macaroons.
(I recommend searching out Patisseries and Chocolate shops out of the tourist centre of Nice they are much cheaper, have much better service and taste wonderful)

20130402-234130.jpg

20130403-164110.jpg

I then went to the market as on a Monday the Cours Saleya is turned into a flea and bric a brac market – I wish ! I had more luggage space ! I would have spent a fortune !

20130402-234318.jpg

After taking in the wonderful Art Deco pieces and oddment stalls, I headed to purchase more gifts ~ Lundi Ferme ~ so needless to say no gifts, I had hoped to get some salts, spices and olive oil. Once again next time.

20130402-234411.jpg

I treated myself to a final cinnamon ice cream ~ 90 flavours and I choose the same one.

20130402-234517.jpg

Then had another lovely people watching lunch more leisurely this time as I was time killing waiting for Mr S to finish work.

20130402-234605.jpg

Full and sleepy I thought it best to move on I walked north towards the Russian Cathedral.

20130403-164015.jpg

Unfortunately I realised certain museums were closed but in my guide book it told me that the Cathedrale Orthodoxe Russe Saint Nicolas was open it was not but I did get to admire the outside.

20130402-234721.jpg

Unexpectedly Mr S was finishing work around now (3.30pm) and we arranged to meet at the next stop on my agenda.

20130403-164221.jpg

20130403-164622.jpg

I walked the whole length of the Promenade des Anglais sun shining, it felt so good to have the sun on my face; people watching, little doggies, cyclists, runners, old & young.
(It’s longer than it looks on the map)
I passed groups of older men playing boules.

20130402-234941.jpg

At the park we had a snack with the wild life. Mr S and I were missing our own clan.

20130402-235101.jpg

Parc Floral Phoenix is €2 and you could easily spend along time here reading, having a picnic, looking at the hot houses, animals and visiting the near by Musee des Arts Asiatiques – Asian Art Museum. (We didn’t have time for this Museum this time)

There is one little cafe in the park which was pleasant and the lady serving was lovely, but I would recommend bringing a picnic especially if you are Sans Ble or Sans Gluten.

20130402-235324.jpg

20130402-235406.jpg

20130402-235441.jpg

20130402-235556.jpg

20130402-235512.jpg

As the sunset we had to head to the airport to return the car, eat and catch our flight.

Bonsoir Nizza

S

20130402-235638.jpg

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

