This & That

8 Apr

I have been annoyingly tired this last week. Friday for instants I got up at 5am, did some chores, Mr S went to work at 8, I took a cup of tea with me as usual to sit and have a read, The Princess snuggled in under my chin and The Dog by my side; next thing I knew the phone was ringing… And it was Mr S seeing if I was ok as he hadn’t heard from me at all – it was now 2pm!
What a waste of a sunny day.
I managed to squeeze in some more spring cleaning, I defrosted and cleaned the freezer and fridge, tidied the under stairs cupboard, did washing and made huge amounts of mac & cheese for dinner and some to be frozen.

20130409-073905.jpg

Saturday was an emotional day, selfishly self caused.
There are days when you just can’t help feeling something, news hits a chord and triggers a gut reaction.

Sunday Mr S did a 5k race with my brother & my brothers Friend.
The dog spent a lovely day with my Father in the garden chopping wood and chasing birds in their garden.
I visited the Grandparents and in the evening we all had a Mamma Cooked roast.

Unfortunately Sunday The Parrot cat came home with another paw injury, bloody and hobbling.
Today we had to take poor Parrot cat to the vets, he has antibiotics and pain killers again.

For dinner tonight I cooked a recipe recommend by L from a Slimming World recipe book. Chicken and Sweetcorn Soup it was very tasty indeed. Slimming world recipes are amazingly yummy whether your on a diet or not!

Chicken & Sweet Corn Soup

20130409-074123.jpg

2 Chicken Breasts
1 Tin of Creamed Sweetcorn
1/2 Litre Vegetable Stock
1tbsp Cornflower
2tbsp Water
1 Large Egg
Handful of Peas
Rice Noodles
Dark Soya Sauce for dressing

(In the book it uses Spring Onions not Peas. Peas and Rice Noodles were my throw in extras- I also made up my own way of doing it a bit different to the book)

20130409-074221.jpg

Place the chicken breasts into the sauce pan with the stock (I added a pinch of pepper too) and slowly bring to the boil. Simmering for 20 minutes and it says removing any scum from the surface but neither L or I could see scum ??

Remove chicken breasts and shred return to pan.

20130409-074324.jpg

20130409-074332.jpg

Add the creamed sweet corn & peas.

Mix cornflower and the 2tbsp of water into a smooth paste, then add to the pan, stirring to thicken.

Remove from heat and slowly drizzle in a beaten egg stirring constantly.

20130409-074531.jpg

Add the rice noodles. (I pre-cooked the rice noodles before adding)

Serve and add dark soya sauce to garnish.

Very easy and tasty meal, would recommend. Thanks L.

20130409-074720.jpg

While doing the dinner The Dog sat enjoying the sun guarding the back door.

Currently I’m ignoring the ironing pile and ironing a shirt a night for Mr S, I could be here till Christmas!

S

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

