This * That * The Other

13 May

Its Monday once again people, I am hoping all had a wonderful weekend but for those who may not have, as life is like that, remember always look for the good in every day how ever hard it seems.

Over the weekend Mr S & I didn’t do a lot, I had a lot of ‘plans’ but nothing really got off the ground.

Friday I had been to the hospital for some blood tests and seen my Mother & Grandparents which was nice. The Dog loves a family outing.

Saturday was a duvet day. I unpacked some bits I had brought back with me Friday. One of which being a sewing basket given to me by my Grandmother.

20130513-224550.jpg

This sewing basket has bits and bobs from my Grandmother, mostly my Great Great Aunt and my Great Great Great Grandmother.

20130513-224622.jpg

20130513-224632.jpg

It was interesting opening the little tins and discovering what was inside. Mostly buttons, but I like buttons, I have a teapot full of buttons.

20130513-224742.jpg

20130513-224802.jpg

20130513-224817.jpg

20130513-224825.jpg

Wooden sewing thread reals. Pre-Decimalisation monetary values marked on packs of binding, needles and such like, novel to me being a Post-Decimalisation child.

20130513-224935.jpg

The basket it’s self is a little flimsy and the fabric needed a wash.
So carefully I unpicked it hand washed and ironed it it ready to be sewn back in and used for another generation to add to it.
I didn’t want to replace the fabric yet I like the blue gingham, plus I didn’t want to loose that part of its history.

Sunday Mr S had studying to do and I tidied and prepared for the week ahead ironing shirts and such like.

Afterwards we sat down and I finished my crochet granny squares practice piece.

20130513-225056.jpg

20130513-225103.jpg

20130513-225109.jpg

Which I was quite chuffed about and has spurred me on to finishing my WIP blanket which I have shown you in past posts.

In a Random subject change:

Our Dog; The Dog is a rescue and on Sunday evening I made the mistake of looking at the website of the place we got him from Norfolk & Suffolk Boxer Rescue. .

I REALLY REALLY shouldn’t look!
I’m a sucker Mr S is a sucker we know this, it is how one Saturday we ended up taking the plunge and went from one day we will have a dog to looking at dogs and the next weekend owning one!

Currently on there is a 6month old little boy & 3 1/2 year old little girl.
Though the little boy caught my eye, I am sure he will find a good home quickly ppl like young puppies. But it’s the 3 1/2 year old little girl… I really have had to have a we can’t discussion with myself and Mr S. As age and personality wise she would be perfect, when we got The Dog we always had full intentions of getting a pair male & female.
There is just something niggling at me, there are lots of dogs that crop up but there is just something about her.
Any way NO!!

Monday came around again.

20130513-225447.jpg

A caramel hot chocolate with cream and caramel drizzle was in order before I had a nail appointment, thankfully. My nails were in a bit of a state and due a pamper.
I’ve got fat hands with funny knuckles in my eyes and I hate having terrible nails as I feel they draw attention to them.

20130513-225557.jpg

I am a red polish kinda gal normally but today I went for a pink with a purplish hue.
I brought some L’oreal (503 Addictive Plum) nail varnish which was the closet match to my nail varnish to paint my tootsies with tomorrow.

Afterwards I popped to stock up on pet food which seems to always be on our shopping list.
Then L meet me for coffee and we had a look around some shops.

I picked up bargains in Dunelm Mill a fux fur throw reduced from £40 to £10, the cats love faux fur.

20130513-225656.jpg

It co-ordinates with The Parrot Cat very well.

20130513-225800.jpg

Curtains reduced from £70 to £8.25 for a temporary fix in the lounge; it currently looks like we live in a squat with an old duvet cover over the broken blinds. Got to love our pets luckily they have now all grown out of the destruction phase.
A little job for papa when the parents next stay.

20130513-225855.jpg

L & I couldn’t resist a quick look in Hobbycraft they have just got in a favourite of ours Smash Pad.
I brought some Smash Pad quotation notelets, discounted yellow ribbon and some multi coloured card. I intend to start my recipe cards I posted about a while back on the card. I’m just on the look out for a suitable receptacle for the recipe cards now.

20130513-230246.jpg

I picked up a copy of Mollie Makes and last months Homemaker magazine to peruse while I’m painting my tootsies and having a tea break tomorrow.

20130513-230346.jpg

Now Time for bed me thinks as its been a long day.

S

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

