The Weekend

3 Jun

The weekend mainly consisted of snuffles and copious amounts of tissues. I seem to have picked up a cold once again.

20130605-082056.jpg

The in-laws came for lunch on Saturday. I prepared a beautiful array of finger sandwiches on my tiered glass servers and decorated with salad & pansies and then made a Victoria Sponge cake.
I even got the teapot out.

Not one to boast and praise myself normally – but Saturday I was back on form in just under 2 hours I managed to get myself out of bed, spruce up the house, bake a cake, send Mr S shopping and produce a wonderful platter for lunch. The only thing is in my haste I didn’t take photos and by the time I thought about it the only thing left was a piece if cake…

20130603-092708.jpg

And here the poor thing looks a bit worse for where, minus it’s dusty icing sugar top all alone – don’t worry he joined the rest quickly after this photo was taken.
I must say this cake here may not look much but I couldn’t produce another like it if I tried, it was so fluffy and light I amazed myself.

I don’t compliment myself and I feel embarrassed saying the above but it’s more about a satisfaction that I produced something that made others happy.

The in-laws and Mr S were surprised when they saw the table and commented about it looking like they had gone for afternoon tea somewhere posh.

Now I’m blushing at my own comments before I delete them through awkwardness. I shall changed the subject and continue with the weekend.

Sunday it was nice enough weather so I took my crochet and sat in the garden.
My WIP deserved some TLC so I picked that up.

20130603-093511.jpg

I have 3 more rows before the stripe bit is done and then I can start the granny squares.

The dog and I had a water fight with the watering can he loves trying to escape being splashed.

I yet again re-designed the garden. We have had to change it again as The Dogs toxic weewee has left the grass in a bad state so we have been discussing AstroTurf which neither of us are keen on but it’s nigh on impossible to get grass to seed unfortunately.
We finally have decided on decking and paving some of the lawn that has been damaged and continue to try and reseed the lawn the better part of the lawn.
But this will be later in the year we do this/next spring even.
I am going to plant up the flower beds that will remain the same this year, so the plants will be mature by the time the garden is done for next summer.

Here is a quick sketch. It won’t have all the plants in that I wanted but it will look nicer and I can always have pots with certain flowers in on the patio.

20130605-082314.jpg

And this is what the design is based on and we are trying to recreate with plants rather than just trees.

20130605-080014.jpg

*houzz

The sketch isn’t finished the white area around the lawn is to be planted up further and a path design chosen.
With the planting I’ve decided to stick with mainly herbs with our soil and for the rabbits health (nibble nibble).

Talking of growing …
When we were flying home from Dublin I took this picture;

20130605-075401.jpg

I love the aerial views of different places when your coming into land and the farmers fields reminded me of a patch work quilt – I wonder if I could put some thought into producing this somehow in something?? Hmmm…

This week sees June in and a busy crafty & baking month for me which I am looking forward to.

S

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

