All heard of a Bull in a China Shop…

9 Jun

But have you heard of … A Boxer in a Haberdashery…

Today Mr S, The Dog & I went to Needham Market a lovely little Suffolk Village, To visit Halfpenny Home’s shop & work shop.

20130609-223948.jpg
*Photo taken from Halfpenny Home

Halfpenny Home was one of my Twitter finds; drawn firstly to her profile by the words TEA & CHICKENS two of my fancies, she got even better by being a crafty soul *click follow*

Having followed Halfpenny Home for a few weeks now and being intrigued by her shop and blogging. Today we took a trip to meet the face behind it all.

At her little shop; which is tucked away on the approach to the railway station in Needham Market, adding to its mystery and charm.
Nicola offers a whole array of sew’y yarn’y pleasures to meet your crafting needs as well as offering classes in multiple different crafts.

Her shop is a feast for the eyes; Mr S said “wow it was like Alice in Wonderland or Something”.
It’s that type of organised stylish chaos that looks amazing, has your eyes flickering from one thing to the next and your mind buzzing, and I couldn’t create if I tried.
I’m sure if you want it Nicola has it or can source you it.

20130610-000851.jpg

Some of my particular favourites being the millions (I’m sure I’m not exaggerating) of Buttons she has, Ribbons – Ribbons & More Ribbons and her personalised wooden knitting needles (I will own some of these if even as decoration in the craft room).

20130610-001000.jpg

Today visiting with Nicola was a lady called Kay who makes Gluten Free, Vegetarian & Dairy Free Goodies which I sampled – Very delicious, but unfortunately due to chatting then a hasty retreat we failed to purchase any – This Time, I am hoping there will be a next time.

20130610-001057.jpg

Mentioning our hasty retreat, I feel I should explain further by saying Mr S & The Dog went to the pub for an hour or so while I was chatting & browsing, enjoying a pimms with the ladies; I picked a good day to visit.
But on their return to collect me The Dog took a fancy to some rather nice Alpca Mix Yarn in a very vibrant orange, Our Boy has good taste.

So at this point we thought it best to retreat before he caused any damage. Luckily he is only a bit sneaky and not destructive, he sees it as his giving you a gift also something he does with socks- a story for another day.

It was past closing I didn’t realise until we were in the car, so sorry about that. It just shows the good suffolk hospitality of Nicola.

As I was taking pictures just before we left my battery died so I couldn’t capture all I would have liked to show you, but I am not sure a camera could do it justice as my eyes didn’t know where to look first. – You will just have to visit yourself and make a day of Needham Market.

All in All the 3 of us had a lovely afternoon.
The boys at the pub, The Dog had a good afternoon playing with local children, Mr S with his treat of a Guniness & Sausage Sarnie and me with the Wonderful delights of Halfpenny Home.

Oooo before I go I nearly forgot to show you what I got…

I just love velveted ribbon & teal matches our bedroom.

20130609-234541.jpg

And this ribbon I’m not sure why I need it but I do I know that.

20130609-234647.jpg

I’ve wanted some of this bobble ribbon, I’m not sure what its real name is, to edge the bottom of a blind in the spare room.

20130609-234824.jpg

And finally The Dogs choice of Yarn how could I refuse him.

20130609-234951.jpg

I’m thinking perhaps I will make some hand warmers with this.

Tonight we have been all getting ready for the working week once more.
Mr S is starting a new job tomorrow another step at working harder for our little family, Lets Wish Him Good Luck – We know you will do Great Hunny. Xx

Hope you all had a good weekend what ever you got up too.

S

2 Responses to “All heard of a Bull in a China Shop…”

  1. rowenamaxwell Mon 18 June 2013 at 4:12 am #

    oh, wow, you are very lucky to go and visit Halfpenny’s Home in person.
    I don’t collect many things however, I do have a ‘thing’ for collecting buttons that I then sew on to suffolk puffs. Her buttons look wonderful along with her blog, studio and creative endeavours. Thanks for sharing. I so love looking into creative people’s studio and things ‘behind-the-scenes’. You learn so much and it always fuels the creative juices!
    Row

    • Serotiny Mon 18 June 2013 at 4:36 am #

      If your ever her way on a holiday you know where to head Row, might be a bit of a day trip for you lol which is why blogging is so good I guess. We get to view the creative people of the world we would otherwise miss.
      Completely agree with you it does fuel the creative juices.
      Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

