Is it just me?…

15 Jul

Is it just me that has an issue with having a minimalistic home. By issue I don’t mean a dislike, I mean a complete inadequacy to have one.

I have a clear out and have 1 item that I decide can go to charity then see this 1 item feel sorry for it and put it back.
Because what if one day it comes in handy or I could re use it as this, that or the other.

A good few years back I gave up 10 years of possessions when I moved for a fresh start and find myself now re-buying; mostly kitchenialia, what I gave away.
In fact the only stuff I miss is the kitchen stuff, I go to use it and think “oh yeah shucks I don’t have that”

I want a lovely white minimal house, the one on my Pinterest boards & in my head, but I’m not sure I’ve got what it takes. I am also not sure I have got the family it takes/sanity, Mr S spilt coffee again over the carpet last night and one word PETS.

Don’t get me wrong I love our home and we have a tidy home everything has a place but there are just rather a lot of places.

Mr S is the complete opposite to me with regards to belongings.
When we moved in to this house he jokes he had a bag and I’m still moving into today a year later, I have so much stuff. (This is actually not really a joke I have stuff stored here there and every where with various friends and relatives, even after the big clear out a few years back)

Clothes are my main thing at the moment. I would love to get rid of my whole wardrobe and invest again in quality not quantity, but obviously this would be wasteful.
I had a clear out a while back and still have an over flowing wardrobe; it’s not like Gucci, Prada, Louboutin & Mulberry, we are talking Next, Priamari (aka Primark), Tesco & High Street Stores.
I’ve read all the tips- if you can’t remember it then you don’t need it, if you haven’t worn it in last year chuck it.

20130715-163436.jpg

BUT what happens when someone has a yellow poka dot party and you need that top you never wear!

What are my excuses??

I think my issue was I went from Working to University and this cut my income drastically meaning I parted from things rarely and brought when things were on offer.

I’m spoilt by my Grandmother and this is one of the BIG issues.
She sees clothes and thinks I will look nice in them and shoes and handbags and then buys them and these aren’t your typical Grandma clothes either she loves The White Company, Boden and such like. I have a Grandmother with amazing taste.

I have lots of clothes but not a lot that fits nicely. I find high street shops sizes are getting silly a size 10 is now a size 8 and a size 12 is now a 10 and so on, and all shape has been lost so it will fit any body, not great when your pretty shapeless (meaning slim) and need fitted clothes to help you.
So I buy things I think that look nice and then actually on me it doesn’t.

I need someone to make these hard choices for me! – GOK I need you!

Has anyone got any good tips for clearing clothes out or any good blogs they have read relating to having a clear out?

S

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

