Twitterwoo

2 Aug

What a mixed bag the weather has been today. A beautiful early morning for those up at 5am, followed by heavy rain, thunder and a power cut for us, then to finish the day back to a balmy blue sky fluffy cloud evening.

I took the opportunity during the rainy bit to finish my Homemaker Magazine Issue 8 owl door stop I started during a twitter #creativesunite session last Thursday.

I have to admit I ditched the magazine instructions and had a play, as surely that’s what it is about, giving you the basics to build on how you like.

20130802-173605.jpg

So Here is My Little Fella Ollie in the making.

I decided to get out a charity store book find.

20130802-173309.jpg

To refresh my embroidery skills on the body of Ollie.

20130802-173402.jpg

Which I did before joining anything.

Then obviously right sides facing I stitched Ollie together.

20130802-173910.jpg

Adding his wings and feet (padded with old pillow insides – saved for this very rainy day).
His wings and feet had to point inside so that when turned the right way they would be on the outside.

20130802-174224.jpg

20130802-174231.jpg

There was a strip like piece on the printed fabric which I think was for a handle at the top, but I fashioned it into a flat bottom so that Ollie can sit more up right as a door stop.
I left a gap at the bottom to turn Ollie the right way out when I had done stitching.

Once stitched & turned so Ollie wings, feet and right side were showing, I used more of the old pillow stuffing to fill & shape the ears and head.

20130802-174725.jpg

Till about 1/3 maybe a little more full.

20130802-174807.jpg

To make Ollie into a weighted door stop you could as suggested use sand, but having none at hand, I brought a 1kg bag of Rice in Aldi for 40p the other day for the purpose of filling Ollie up. I didn’t think that was to bad.

20130802-175058.jpg

Then using invisible magic stitches or not in my case (a stitch that needs more practice) I sewed Ollie’s bottom up.

I finished off by adding more texture with blanket stitch to his feet before putting Ollie to work in the Kitchen as head door man.

20130802-175404.jpg

Last Thursday Evening on Twitter was also Virtual Party Night for Jocelyn @Ihavecards.

Jocelyn sells some lovely cards & stationary I’ve mentioned before in a #postcircle post.

Some delicious virtual Lemon Drizzle Cake & Tea was had by me haha, while tweeting and joining in with the quiz.
Along side my sewing.

And the upshot of the night was I won a surprise gift from the evening. Which turned up in today’s post ~ YAY ~ YAY ~ Exciting.

20130802-181334.jpg

I Love Them – Thank you very much Jocelyn.
Bunnies are my favourite! & Cake. Plus the little Mouse is so sweet. I am completely unashamedly a GIRLY GIRL.

Mousie book mark has been pinned to the craft room wall.

20130802-181740.jpg

And The Little Rabbit & Cake Card is in a frame.

20130802-181844.jpg

You can find Jocelyn’s business blog at I Have Cards, 90% of the cards are blank meaning they are so versatile and her personal blog at The Reading Residence is a mix of Good Advise from her Pre-Mummy career days & her now job as Mother and Homemaker.

Have A Fun #creativesunite Tonight Twitter people.
After a long week and doing my creating earlier today, I will be missing tonight as Mr S & I will be enjoying the evening together.

S

2 Responses to “Twitterwoo”

  1. thereadingresidence Fri 18 August 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Thanks very much for the glowing reference and I’m so pleased you liked your surprise package 🙂 I rummaged through my stock to find something rabbity for you! X

    • Serotiny Fri 18 August 2013 at 8:26 pm #

      😊 Liked very much Thank You.
      Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

