No 3: THE HOW #LetterSocial

18 Aug

It’s a #Lettersocial Sunday once again hosted by Anni @Tea_and_Letters.
This time it was decided upon discussing the How of Letter writing, as well as joining up on Twitter for a letter writing day.

So this is my ‘Letter Recipe’ but with all recipes they are much better when you feel the measurements and don’t use scales, then add your own twist.

Snail Mail Letter

Serves 1 Penpal Friend.

Basic Ingredients:

1 Writing Medium of Your Choice.
Stationary Paper of Your Choice.
1 Piece of Scrap Paper.
1 Envelope.
Postage.
A Smidgen of Time.
A Beverage of Choice.

Optional Extras

Coloured Pens/Pencils.
Paints.
Stickers.
Cards.
Ink & Stamps.
Washi Tape.
Tuck In’s.
Your Endless Imagination.

Having gathered all your ingredients and made your Beverage of choice; my personal choice is Tea.
Sit down where you are most comfortable and happy to write.

I like writing at my desk or at the kitchen table lately.

Take your scrap piece of paper and jot down ideas for your letter.
I like to plan a theme; such as butterflies, flowers or a specific colour.
Add Topics to Discuss, Questions to Ask, Tuck-ins to Include.
I also practice any doodle designs or fancy writing styles.

20130819-210255.jpg

Then I am ready to start selecting what I need for my letter.

20130819-210828.jpg

These 3 boxes above (though awaiting a decoupage make over; I’m trying to collect enough stamps and interesting postage stickers to use) contain exciting penpal essentials.

Box 1: Is My Received Mail Box & General Address book.

20130819-211147.jpg

Box 2: Is Cards & Writing Paper.

20130819-211324.jpg

20130819-211335.jpg

Box 3: Are Tuck-In’s.

I pick tuck-in’s up as and when I see them for good prices or things I think will be appropriate etc.

20130819-211519.jpg

I then pick my choice of stationary.
Some times I add pages to cards…

20130819-232111.jpg

Or photocopy pretty paper that has come with magazines…

20130819-232252.jpg

20130819-232302.jpg

Picking a suitable colour pen; my small desk draw holds my usual selection. (As well as ink stamps I keep to hand)

20130819-212451.jpg

And I start Writing!

Half way through I usually reheat my cup of tea as I’m so engrossed with writing and decorating its gone terrible cold.

When I am finished writing, I design my envelope of choice with stickers, doodles, washi etc as you have seen in previous posts.

I try and think about where the postage will fit, the local postmaster is used to me screaming at him “Not There!” As he ruins an envelope with a huge postage stamp. Bless him he now tries his hardest to think about his stamp placement, or I instruct him.

I wrap my tuck ins if I am sending them and arrange my parcel.

Then I nip off to see F the local postmaster, have a chat and hand him my latest creation for dispatch.

The most important part of this recipe is to smile while you work, enjoy what you do, and even appreciate the postal service & having a postoffice.

So that’s my Snail Mail Recipe.

I’d love to hear about how others approach writing.

Some people write to lots & lots of people – If your one of these people – How do you organise yourself? Know what you have written to each person? etc.

How do you find inspiration? Do you prefer wordy letters to decorated letters?

I would love to know.

S

4 Responses to “No 3: THE HOW #LetterSocial”

  1. Tea and Letters Tue 18 August 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    Preparing and doodling – good idea, i have never done that!

    • Serotiny Tue 18 August 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks. I would love to hear how you or any seasoned letter writer keeps up with their letter writing and any tips sometime. 🙂
      Sx

  2. Lynn Fri 18 September 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    This is brilliant!

    • Serotiny Tue 18 September 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Thank You.
      Do You Letter Write Lynn?
      Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

