#iheartswap #lovebugswap

14 Feb

HAPPY VALENTINES DAY

Today also marks the reveal day for my first swap parcel. – EXCITED – MUCHLY!

Ive been tempted by the idea of swap parcels for a while and a few Letter Writing friends partake in them so I’ve heard lots about them.

Last month a valentines day based swap caught my eye by a lady called Louise O’Keefe; @louffy1983 on Instagram.
You can follow the swap on Instagram with the hash tag #iheartswap & #lovebugswap.

The #lovebugswap #iheartswap had 2 categories of swappers paired up by Louise; The #iheartswap; those that had swapped with her before with a £10 limit and The #lovebugswap those who had not swapped before, with a £5 limit. I think this aspect appealed to me as some swap parcels I’ve heard of never turning up blah blah.
Those who took part in the #iheartswap had the criteria of 5 gifts at least 2 of these being handmade.
And my #lovebugswap the criteria of 4 gifts 2 handmade 2 brought.

The Fabulous Lady I was paired with is called Corinne. Corinne is an accomplished crocheter mastering even the complex tiny lace pretty stuff.
So when I was thinking of my makes and chatting to her about likes dislikes etc. it occurred to me that this lady must have a house full of crocheted items and how could I ever crochet something as intricate as she does with my silly unreliable hands. But at the same time as I knew this to be Corinne’s favourite craft I expected she would crochet for her crafts, meaning I wanted to put just as much effort into her parcel as she would to mine.

On Went The Thinking Cap
And this is what it came up with…

Decoupage

My choice for this craft was because Corinne mentioned her love for vintage & up cycle, from her pictures I gathered this is more in a traditional way rather than shabby chic – smoother it in white paint. With this in mind I thought decoupage was a nice Victorian’esk craft to include.

20140213-224452.jpg

20140213-224512.jpg

20140213-224527.jpg

I’ve painted this little trinket box gold inside to add some special sparkle.

20140213-233400.jpg

20140213-233422.jpg

20140213-233514.jpg

Air Dry Clay

I love my pottery class and making but things don’t get fired regularly enough to have included a make in this swap.
So I brought some Air Dry Clay to try.

It was an odd texture to work with slightly slimy like it had a silicon or such like added to keep it moist? But I didn’t dislike it all together. It didn’t allow me the detail that I could obtain from clay or fimo/scalpy clay as it also had a fibrous texture.

Corinne has two cats so I made tiny cat ornaments.

20140213-233617.jpg

20140213-233638.jpg

And a small jewellery dish. Which I decorated with a simple butterfly painted metallic silver.

20140213-233657.jpg

20140213-233735.jpg

Embroidery

I’m hoping Corinne liked this material I used for the embroidery display hoop. I Love it and I was hoping it would appeal to her vintage side. (I made Jarmies using this material in the summer)

To make it valentines themed I added a little heart in chain & running stitch.

20140213-233812.jpg

Sewing

What do you think to these love bug hand warmers ??

The pattern is from Tai Dye Original with a little adaption; different eyes, antenna and the fact they are scent hand warmers.

20140213-233849.jpg

20140213-234033.jpg

20140213-234112.jpg

I added a few drops of essential oil to rice before stuffing the bugs.

20140218-173921.jpg

These fellows need zapping in the microwave for 30seconds only as they are so small. They can then be popped in the palm of you hand with or without gloves on.

Baking & Sweet Making

Can you guess what this sugary pink and white delight is ??

20140213-233926.jpg

Coconut Ice; which had some sparkly edible glitter added before I cut it into little hearts.

20140213-233944.jpg

Brought Gifts

I brought a note book & ladybird rubber for the love bug theme and so that Corinne can make notes about yarn etc she uses for her crochet.
I also included a favourite pattern of mine with this.

20140213-234237.jpg

And a reusable tin which I filled with the coconut ice I made.

20140213-234301.jpg

Then I indulged my mail love crafty side by including a few little extras such as hot chocolate in a cup, love hearts and a chocolate Lolly and decorating all in a valentines theme.

20140213-234158.jpg

20140213-234342.jpg

20140213-234436.jpg

20140213-234515.jpg

20140213-234542.jpg

So I hear you say what did Corinne send you ….

20140213-235108.jpg

20140213-235142.jpg

20140214-144106.jpg

Some lovely crochet gifts and a pretty Cath Kidston pin tin.

All of which I LOVE. Especially as I haven’t been able to do crochet for a little while properly.

The heart smells of beautiful lavender from Corinne’s garden in the summer and I will never be able to lace crochet like she can.
The tea cozy I actually have in my Ravery queue!
So Corinne really did get me and my style spot on.

20140218-180421.jpg

So Thank you once again Corinne for my parcel and Louise for arranging the swap.

Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

