Hot Cross Buns

21 Apr

Well we seem to have been the only part of the country that hasn’t had brilliant blue sky’s and sunshine this Easter Weekend.

A few sneaky rays have made it through but mostly it’s been very grey indeed.

Saturday Mr S met up with a friend, so I took this opportunity to bake Gluten Free Hot Cross Buns.

This is the first time I’ve made a gluten free bake with yeast. So it was always going to be hit and miss as it’s a learning curve.
Generally I never have issues converting non gluten free recipes to gluten free, but with baking I know more about the why’s & how’s. With yeast baking I don’t really. I know what yeast is the principles but not visibly what a mixture is doing.

I took Paul Hollywood’s Hot Cross Bun Recipe on the Good Food Website. As I’ve seen lots of people have success with this and then I altered it to Gluten Free & to taste.
I have a real dislike of peel so I didn’t add any and I didn’t have an apple. But instead I soaked my sultanas in apple juice.

Hot Cross Buns

For the buns:

300ml/10fl oz whole milk
500g/1lb 2oz gluten free strong white flour (I use Doves Farm)
75g/2½oz caster sugar
1 tsp salt
7g fast-action yeast
50g/1¾oz butter
1 egg, beaten
200g/7oz sultanas
100ml/3 fl oz good quality apple juice
2 tsp ground cinnamon
sunflower oil, for greasing the bowl.

For the cross:

75g/2½oz gluten free plain flour, plus extra for dusting (again I use Doves Farm)

For the glaze:

3 tbsp apricot jam

So following the same steps as Paul Hollywoods Recipe.

20140424-170412.jpg

20140424-170429.jpg

Adding my own twist..

20140424-170440.jpg

20140424-170458.jpg

20140424-170511.jpg

20140424-170520.jpg

20140424-170533.jpg

20140424-170549.jpg

1 hour later … It has risen … Not as much a normal dough.

20140424-170605.jpg

There was some adding of fruit and spices with another hours proving.

20140424-170620.jpg

Followed by shaping and more proving.

20140424-170639.jpg

The realisation I had no icing bag, so the use of a food bag to add some very ‘rustic’ looking crosses.

20140424-170719.jpg

Baking for 20minutes.
Glazing with apricot jam.

20140424-170730.jpg

Then Eating !!!

So verdict. Well these honestly were not the biggest success. I think in hinds site I didn’t add enough liquid; with my gluten free bakes I always add a little more liquid and as the mixture was sticky I didn’t. Secondly, I think at the final shape and prove stage I over handled them, I think I would have had a much better rise and texture if I hadn’t.

But they were edible and we enjoyed them Easter Morning for breakfast.

I would be interested in anyone else’s tips who has made gluten free hot cross buns.

Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

