Word Of The Week

26 Sep

21st – 27th September 2014

This weeks Word Of The Week is Craftermath.

CRAFTERMATH

[Kraf-ter-marth] noun

The resulting and overwhelming mess that is left after creative pursuits.

The apocalyptic consequence of a craft session.

The disarray left after a craft session, leaving one in a state of despair & desperation at the thought of tidying up.

Example: She had a most satisfying craft session trying all those new Pinterest crafts, but then she turned to look at the Craftermath with desperation she hoped for a cleaning fairy to appear.

Where has this word been in my vocabulary! Oh how I relate to this word!
How many of you know this feeling?
In fact I would like to know anyone that doesn’t have this feeling!?

What is the messiest craft you do ?

I think mine is my paper crafts when letter writing and producing mail art.
I get out all my papers, envelopes, stickers, pens, pencils, tuck-ins you name it. I cut, stick, layer, decoupage, draw… And before you know it piles of paper sheets and all those little bits that are cut off, the glue and scissors missing under the heaps.

20140926-075230.jpg

This week I’ve finally caught up on my #postcircle, #instapalmail & #tweetpalmail. Woohoo! Despite the remaining Craftermath.
I just have to get to a post office now!

What would be your Word of the Week?

Why not link up with Jocelyn’s Word of the Week over at The Reading Residence blog and tell everybody.

Sx

The Reading Residence
10 Responses to “Word Of The Week”

  1. thereadingresidence Fri 18 September 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    I love this word! And I’d never heard of it! I’m not very ‘crafty’, but yes, when snail mailing, I do have paper, stickers and washi all over the place! Thanks for sharing with #WotW

    • Serotiny Sun 18 September 2014 at 4:50 am #

      I’m sure there are times when it also applies to the children lol
      Enjoying making your craftermath !
      Thanks for tweeting etc.
      Sx

  2. Kim Carberry Fri 18 September 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    What a great word! lol I didn’t know such a word existed!

    • Serotiny Sun 18 September 2014 at 4:53 am #

      I know hey!
      Think we can all relate.
      Sx

  3. twoadultsonekidandonedog Fri 18 September 2014 at 3:37 pm #

    What a marvellous word 🙂 and I’m the same, I cover the table with paper, stickers, washi tape etc…

    • Serotiny Sun 18 September 2014 at 4:56 am #

      Is there such a thing as a tidy crafter I wonder lol
      It’s all part of the creativity !
      Sx

  4. Sara Martin Fri 18 September 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    “Craftermath”- brilliant! My desk is often the scene of “craftermath” – I am so stealing that word lovey!! (chuckles to herself whilst staring at the scene on her desk) xx

    • Serotiny Sun 18 September 2014 at 5:03 am #

      It’s definitely a word for a scrapbooker!
      You can’t do that with out a ‘craftermath’.
      It made Mr S laugh as well as myself.
      Sx

  5. Mhairi Little Hands Sat 18 September 2014 at 7:17 pm #

    Oh what a great word! So going to have to work it into a conversation this week!

    • Serotiny Sun 18 September 2014 at 5:06 am #

      I know, it made me chuckle. I now wonder what other words there are like this relating to crafting.
      Sx

Leave a Reply

BloominBootiful

A girl and her garden :)

www.KamalaThompson.com

"Where Business Meets Humanity"

The Hopeful Plot.

Living for a living.

zoeprose

Celebrating stories | Literary weavings and bookish gifts

So thats my life

A little bit of everything

Fab N' Free

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bumpkin Bears and Friends

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

wood & wool stool

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Primrose's Attic

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

silje-sin

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Freunde von Freunden

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Everygirl

Just another WordPress.com site

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

happy loves rosie

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

A Bowl Full of Lemons

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

613materika

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Happy Mail Project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Marcy Penner

scrapbooking and everyday life.

Bunny Mummy

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

New Products from Main Website Store

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Craftyminx

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

The Little Red Squirrel

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

TIMBALLOO

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

luzia pimpinella

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

After Hours...

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

emma lamb

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

haus maus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Awkward & Beautiful

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

fork and flower

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Bohème Circus

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Dinner Rad

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

decor8

decorate. design. lifestyle.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Emma Magazine

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

Earnest Home co.

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

the goldhawk project

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

c i n d e r s & r a i n .

~ Everything Stops for Tea ~

